About

Tanguy Benoit is a french artist and designer graduated from the Master of Design, Space and Communication orientation and the Bachelor of Visual Art, Construction option at HEAD - Geneva. By articulating his research around the concept of landscape and its pictorial traditions, he re-examines contemporary ideologies of the border and otherness. His reflections are illustrated in an experimental and multidisciplinary practice that combines the domains of space design, sculpture, cinema, photography and sound design.

More
Collective exhibitions

2020 | Montage: Design and Film, Film and Design in The Design Film Festival, online exhibition. A collaboration between HEAD - Geneva, Parsons The New School and Kingston School of Art, directed by Alexandra Midal, Ulrich Lehmann and Jana Scholze. In partnership with The Design Museum and the French Institute of the United Kingdom.
2018 | Flying saucers, Ariana, Swiss Museum of Ceramics and Glass - Geneva.
2018 | Flying Saucers, during the Cultural Night of Langenthal, Switzerland, in the old porcelain factory "Porzi".

Theoretical writings

2021 | The Hidden Story, Les westerns parlants de John Ford (1939-1964), under the supervision of Alexandra Midal, HEAD – Geneva.
2019 | Mouvements vaporeux, under the supervision of Jill Gasparina, HEAD – Geneva.

Studies and diplomas

2021 | Master of Arts HES – SO, in Design, Space and Communication orientation, at the HEAD – Geneva.
2019 | Bachelor of Arts HES – SO, in Visual Arts, Construction option, at the HEAD – Geneva.
2016 | Preparatory school, EBAG – Annemasse.

Other

2021 | Dans l’œil du Prince, conception and installation of the end of year windows of Hermès – Geneva. Common realization of twelve students of the Master Space and Communication of the HEAD – Geneva. Under the direction of François Dumas, Alexandra Midal, Arno Mathies and Emma Pflieger.

News

<i>The Design Film Festival</i>
4 September 2020

The Design Film Festival

The Design Film Festival presents, from September 11 to November 1, 2020, films made by designers and films about design. The festival is an online exhibition that shares completed and developing works, storyboards, prototypes and other (...)
Grand tour 2019
6 August 2019

Grand tour 2019

The Grand Tour allows young graduates of Bachelor and Master in Visual Arts from H.E.A.D. - Geneva to show their diploma work. This visit is intended mainly for curators, critics, institutional-ones and gallery owners and takes place in the Art-Visual workshops of the school.
<i>Flying Saucers</i> exhibition at Ariana
6 August 2019

Flying Saucers exhibition at Ariana

Ariana Museum
Avenue de la Paix 10
1202 Geneva
Exhibition from 7 to 14 October 2018.
Opening Sunday, October 7 at 12h.

Biographie

Tanguy Benoit est un artiste/designer français diplômé du Master Design, Espace et Communication de la HEAD-Genève ainsi que du Bachelor Art Visuel, option Construction de cette même école. En travaillant sur différents archétypes des médias grand public tels que la vision de la conquête dans le genre du western hollywoodien, il réinterprète notre rapport à la représentation du territoire et du paysage dans le domaine du divertissement.

En savoir +
Expositions

2020 | Montage : Design and Film, Film and Design dans The Design Film Festival, exposition en ligne. Une collaboration entre la HEAD – Genève, Parsons The New School et Kingston School of Art, dirigée par Alexandra Midal, Ulrich Lehmann et Jana Scholze. En partenariat avec The Design Museum et l’Institut Français du Royaume-Uni.
2018 | Soucoupes volantes, Ariana, musée Suisse de la Céramique et du Verre – Genève.
2018 | Soucoupes volantes, durant la Nuit Culturelle de Langenthal, Suisse, dans l’ancienne manufacture de porcelaine « Porzi ».

Études

2019 - 2021 | Master Design, orientation Espace et Communication, HEAD – Genève.
2016 - 2019 | Bachelor Arts visuels, option Construction, HEAD – Genève.
2015 - 2016 | École préparatoire, EBAG – Annemasse.

Workshops et cours (suivis)

2020 | Film by Designer, HEAD – Genève, Californie, workshop dirigé par Alexandra Midal, Emma Pflieger et Mathias Zieba.
2019 | Pratiques photographique, HEAD – Genève, cours dirigé par Aurélie Pétrel.
2019 | Secret Societies : To Be Invisible, HEAD – Genève, workshop dirigé par Cristina Ricupero et Bruno Serralongue.
2019 | Potlatch, HEAD – Genève, workshop dirigé par Marjorie Kapelusz et Benoît Renaudin.
2018 | Langenthal, Soucoupes volantes, HEAD – Genève, workshop dirigé par Katharina Hohmann, Vincent Kohler, Marjorie Kapelusz et Benoît Renaudin. Ce projet s’inscrit dans le projet Topographies of the Obsolete, initié par Neil Brownsword et Anne Helen Mydland.
2018 | Objet construit, HEAD – Genève, cours dirigé par Luc Mattenberger.
2017 | Bellelay – Yalelleb, HEAD – Genève, workshop dirigé par Katharina Hohmann et Christian Gonzenbach.

Actualités

<i>The Design Film Festival</i>
4 septembre 2020

The Design Film Festival

The Design Film Festival présente, du 11 septembre jusqu’au 1 novembre 2020, des films réalisés par des designers et des films sur le design. Le festival est une exposition en ligne qui partage des œuvres achevées ou en développements, des (...)
Grand tour 2019
12 juillet 2019

Grand tour 2019

Le Grand Tour permet aux jeunes diplômés de Bachelor et de Master en Arts visuels de la H.E.A.D. - Genève de montrer leurs travaux de diplôme. Cette visite s’adresse surtout aux curateur-trice-s, critiques, institutionnel-le-s et galeristes et prend place dans les ateliers Art-Visuel de l’école.
Exposition <i>Soucoupes Volantes</i> à l’Ariana
12 juillet 2019

Exposition Soucoupes Volantes à l’Ariana

Musée Ariana
Avenue de la Paix 10
1202 Genève
Exposition du 7 au 14 octobre 2018. 
Vernissage le dimanche 7 octobre à 12h.